Beijing Arbitration Commission

Research Report on the Sub-topic Project of Commercial Arbitration

Research Topic of the Supreme People’s Court on Establishing and Improving Diversified Dispute Settlement Mechanisms
Research Report on the Sub-topic Project of Commercial Arbitration
(Note: The version published on the website is the brief version of the “Report”, the full text of which is published on Beijing Arbitration, Volume 66, China Legal Publishing House, September, 2008)
The Sub-topic Project Team of Commercial Arbitration
Report Outline (please click the contents for details):

  • I. Project Overview
  • II. Research Background and Purpose
  • III. Development History and Present Situation of China’s Arbitration
    • (I) Development History of China’s Arbitration and Promulgation Background of the Arbitration Law
    • (II) Innate Advantages of Arbitration in terms of Settling Disputes, Maintaining Harmony and Promoting Civil and Commercial Trade
    • (III) Epochal Characteristics of the Development of China’s Arbitration System
  • IV. Project Research Methods
    • (I) Overview of Research Methods
    • (II) Design of Research Questionnaire
    • (III) Statistical and Analytical Tools of Research Questionnaire
    • (IV) Analysis of Collecting of Research Questionnaire
  • V. Extensive Analysis of Major Issues
    • (I) On Development of Arbitration Institutions and Popularity of Arbitration
    • (II) On Circumstances of Case Settlement
    • (III) On Arbitration Legislation
    • (IV) On Arbitration Agreements
    • (V) On Judicial Supervision over Arbitration
    • (VI) Summary of Research Circumstances
  • VI. Suggestions
    • (I) On Arbitration Agreements
    • (II) On Arbitrators
    • (III) On Arbitration Procedures
    • (IV)On Judicial Supervision over Arbitration
    • (V) The Positioning of Arbitration Institutions as Legal Person
    • (VI) Undertaking of Responsibilities by Arbitrators and Arbitration Institutions
    • (VII) On Suggestions for  Special Provisions of International Commercial Arbitration

I. Project Overview
Establishing and improving diversified dispute settlement mechanisms was the key reform project of the Supreme People’s Court in 2008. As an important way of diversified dispute settlement mechanisms, commercial arbitration is one of the important sub-topics of the research project. Under the arrangement of the Supreme People’s Court, the sub-topic team of commercial arbitration was established jointly by the Supreme People’s Court, China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (hereinafter referred to as CIETAC) and Beijing Arbitration Commission (hereinafter referred to as BAC), and was formally founded in late July, 2007. Leng Haidong, Deputy Secretary General of CIETAC, acts as the leader of the sub-topic team, while Dr. He Fan of the Judicial Reform Office of the Supreme People’s Court (hereinafter referred to as JRO) takes charge of the coordination and guidance thereof. Wang Xilian, Director of BAC, Zhao Jian, Director of CIETAC and others a total of ten persons are the members of the topic team. Jiang Lili from BAC, as well as a member of the topic team, is the author of the research report.

When the Work Program of the Reform Project on Establishing and Improving Diversified Dispute Settlement Mechanisms of the JRO of the Supreme People’s Court was issued, the sub-topic team of commercial arbitration held a meeting on August 15, 2007 as required by the Work Program to jointly research work ideas, discuss work plans and prepare work programs. Afterwards, the topic team prepared a questionnaire, which was sent to 186 arbitration institutions nationwide, and followed up the feedback information timely. In September and October, 2007, the topic team went to Nanjing, Shenzhen, Chongqing and Yinchuan for survey, and had an informal discussion with the local high and intermediate people’s courts, arbitration institutions, lawyers and representatives of the business. In November, 2007, the topic team went to France, Britain and Singapore for study. On January 18, 2008, the JRO of the Supreme People’s Court held “Forum on Judicial Reform of the People’s Courts – Seminar on Establishing and Improving Diversified Dispute Settlement Mechanisms”, and the topic team sent members to report the interim progress of the project. At present, the research project has been successfully implemented and finished as scheduled, the achievement of which is the research report.

 

Model Arbitration Clause Arbitration Clause
All disputes arising from or in connection with this contract shall be submitted to Beijing Arbitration Commission / Beijing International Arbitration Center for arbitration in accordance with its rules of arbitration in effect at the time of applying for arbitration. The arbitral award is final and binding upon both parties.
Events
More >>>
Copyright© Beijing Arbitration Commission. All Rights Reserved.link   |   Copyright

北京仲裁委员会

最高人民法院建立和完善多元化纠纷解决机制调研课题

商事仲裁子课题项目调研报告

(注:本网站发布为“报告”简要版,报告全文载于《北京仲裁》第66辑,中国法制出版社,2008年9月版)

商事仲裁子课题项目组

报告提纲(详细内容请点击目录查阅): 一 项目概况

建立和完善多元化纠纷解决机制是最高人民法院2008年的重点改革项目,商事仲裁作为多元化纠纷解决机制的一种重要方式,是该调研项目的重要子课题之一。根据最高人民法院的安排,商事仲裁子课题组由最高人民法院、中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会(以下简称“贸仲”)和北京仲裁委员会(以下简称“北仲”)共同组建,于2007年7月下旬正式成立。子课题组由贸仲冷海东副秘书长任组长,最高人民法院司法改革办公室(以下简称“司改办”)何帆博士负责协调指导。北仲王喜莲处长、贸仲赵健处长等10人为课题组成员。本调研报告执笔人为课题组成员、北仲姜丽丽。

最高人民法院司改办《关于建立和完善多元化纠纷解决机制改革项目工作方案》下发后,根据工作方案的要求,商事仲裁子课题组于2007年8月15日召开会议,共同研究工作思路、讨论工作计划、制订工作方案。随后课题组拟定调查问卷,向全国186家仲裁机构发送问卷并及时追踪反馈信息。2007年9-10月课题组分别到南京、深圳、重庆和银川进行了调研,与当地高级、中级人民法院、仲裁机构和律师及企业界代表进行了座谈。2007年11月,课题组赴法国、英国和新加坡进行了考察。2008年1月18日,最高人民法院司改办召开“人民法院司法改革论坛——建立和完善多元化纠纷解决机制研讨会”,课题组派员汇报了项目中期进展情况。现调研项目已经根据预定计划顺利实施并完成,项目成果为调研报告。

因本合同引起的或与本合同有关的任何争议,均提请北京仲裁委员会/北京国际仲裁中心按照其仲裁规则进行仲裁。仲裁裁决是终局的,对双方均有约束力。
活动安排
版权所有:北京仲裁委员会 ICP备案号010327友情链接   |   版权声明